“Mama Sings The Blues”

Susan Valliant Speer with The Rascals Of Rhythm

Susan Valliant Speer vocal *
Mike Wills clarinet, soprano and tenor saxes
Tony Blincowe clarinet, soprano, alto and tenor saxes
Perry Lock piano
Dave Moorwood acoustic guitar, vocal **
Roger Davis double bass

Click on the speaker icons to hear sound clips (WMA format)
1 I'm The Lonesomest Girl In Town * (b) Van Tilser/Brown 4m 09s
2 Downhearted Blues * (b) Hunter 4m 12s
3 Copenhagen (a) Melrose/Davis 4m 26s
4 Fair And Square ** (a) Roefer/Razaf 4m 51s
5 Pardon My Southern Accent * (b) Malneck/Mercer 3m 57s
6 I'm The Last Of The Red Hot Mamas * (b) Yellen/Ager 4m 29s
7 Out Of The Gallion (a) Bechet/Mezzrow 6m 30s
8 Ooh That Kiss (b) Dixon/Young/Warren 4m 20s
9 Le Marchand De Poissons (a) Bechet 4m 16s
10 Brother Can You Spare A Dime * (b) Harburg/Gorney 5m 19s
11 Hard Hearted Hannah * (b) Yellen/Bates/Bigelow 3m 53s
  12 Last Night On The Back Porch ** (a) Schraubstader/Brown 4m 31s
13 When Day Is Done (a) Katscher/De Sylva 4m 23s
14 Thou Swell (a) Rodgers/Hart 3m 35s
15 Mama's Got The Blues * (b) Williams/Martin 4m 55s
16 Doctor Jazz * (b) Oliver/Melrose 3m 20s
Total running time 71m 46s

Recorded by Peter Kings at (a) Lains Barn, Wantage, Oxfordshire on February 6th, 2006 and (b) Garston Recording Studios, Hanslope, Northants. on April 3rd, 2006 (with thanks to Ian Riley)

Produced by P.E.K. Sound (Digital Location Recording), Congerstone, Nuneaton, Warwickshire. CV13 6LZ ENGLAND.  Telephone/Fax +44 (0)1827 880091
Cover photos: Susan Valliant Speer by Stacey Osborne (SoPhoto); Dave Moorwood by Brian Robinson